NIMA BRUSHES – A REVIEW.

 

Hi everyone!

Finally I’m writing this review. Nima brushes kindly sent me these brushes a couple of weeks ago and I wanted to really use them before I wrote about them. I thought that way I could really give my most informed and honest opinion!

I’ll get straight into the review now! The first set that was sent to me was The Elite Face Detail Set, the first 5 brushes in this post.

“Our new Face Detail Set from the Elite Collection now contains 5 Kabuki brushes for your every need. Each brush is made from Taklon Synthetic fibers which can be used for cream/liquid or powder products. Each brush is made from non-porous fibers which doesn’t absorb any of the products you use resulting is less waste. These brushes are designed to bounce back into shape no matter how much pressure is applied, especially after being washed.” This is taken directly from their website.

I can certainly agree with what they have said here. I’ve washed the brushes multiple times and they’re as good as new. Bearing in mind, I haven’t had them for that long. However to me it looks as if they’re going to stand the test of time. They also don’t show any wear on the handles.

 

Now to talk about each brush.

img_0552

“Tapered Fluffy Kabuki – Use this brush to apply foundation, powder, blush, or highlighter onto the upper contours of the face for a glowing complexion. Simply roll the brush into color and sweep in a circular motion onto desired area and blend for a flawless look.” 

I use this brush to apply my bronzer and it does a really nice job. It picks up just the right about of product, and doesn’t leave the application looking patchy. It’s also not TOO big. Some powder brushes are overwhelming, but not this one!

img_0553

“Round Head Kabuki – working on the round head of the brush use this to buff powder or mineral powder foundation effortlessly into the skin. This brush is supper efficient at applying a full coverage, glowing finish.” 

I use this brush to apply my powder foundation and it is perfect! It is THE PERFECT size. It’s also really fluffy so it doesn’t make the powder look cakey at all. It applies a thin veil, whilst giving high coverage, the perfect combo.

img_0554

Precision kabuki – working with the tip and the sides of the brush use this to apply powder to the small areas of the face, use the side of the brush to apply blush to the apples of the cheeks or use the tip to apply precision shading to the contour of the cheekbones.”

I use this as a contour brush. I like to apply my base contour with another brush, and then blend out with this one. I use powder contour but I imagine that this would be perfect for cream contour. You can lightly apply the contour and apply more pressure to blend out. It’s very similar to a real techniques one I had before, however it is much softer so does a better job of blending.

 

img_0555

“Flat Head Kabuki – working on the flat head of the brush use this to buff liquid foundation effortlessly into the skin. This brush is super fast at applying a full coverage, flawless finish.”

This is hands down my favourite brush of the bunch! It’s so dense. It’s perfect for applying and blending concealer or cream highlight. My only criticism is that I wish it were bigger. I would love a brush like this for achieving high coverage foundation, but with a brush this small it takes too long. – EDIT I have just been informed that Nima do a larger flat kabuki brush – I will for sure have to invest if it’s anything like this one! 

img_0558

This is an AMAZING blush and highlight brush. It’s so fluffy, that it’s hard to ever apply too much product. I think it’s the perfect dupe for the Mac 168. I’ve actually never had a brush like this in my collection, as a found it hard to find one that was affordable – but here it is!

img_0556

“The Fuzz is a large shader brush made from extremely soft Sable hair. This brush is absolutely perfect for applying eyeshadow across the eyelid. The tip of the Fuzz is also great for applying a transition colour into the socket of the eye and for softly smudging colour under the eye. Using the flat side of the brush, simply pat the eyeshadow onto the lid, and use the tip and a window wiper motion to apply a transtion shade in the crease.”

Perfect brush for packing eyeshadow onto the lid. That’s all that needs to be said really. Always handy to have a few of these. – shop here.

img_0557

“The Donna is a beautifully tapered blending brush handmade from brushed goat hair. Use this brush to apply shadow to the socket line of the eye and also to quickly and seamlessly diffuse out shadow for a perfectly blended finish. The Donna is the perfect blending brush to have in your kit. Using a circular motion will buff out any harsh lines of eye shadow to create that perfect seamless smokey eye.”

This is a perfect dupe for the Mac 217. Your standard blending brush. Also great to have a couple of these in your kit – you can never blend enough! – shop here.

So that’s my review! Would I recommend these brushes? Yes, if you’re looking to start your brush collection I think they would be perfect, or if you’re looking to expand your collection I think The Elite Face kit has some really unique brushes, and dupes of far more expensive one. They’re affordable, not to forget gorgeous. The white handles on the set are so sleek and perfect paired with the brown metallic heads. Of course, the duck egg blue colour is now synonymous with Nima! I’m seeing it everywhere!

I hope you enjoyed reading this, and that it was helpful. Again, thank you to Nima! I will definitely be picking up some more. Niamh, you are an inspiration! Thank you for being such a girl boss!

Until next time,

Laura x

2 thoughts on “NIMA BRUSHES – A REVIEW.

Leave a Reply

